Aviation Photography tips

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Aviation Photography tips

I'm new to aviation photography. I'm keen to improve and I try everything I can. But I have one question. How do you maintain and get full focus on the whole of the plane in the frame. Sometimes I get the cockpit in focus and the tail I don't, or overall it's crap. I've looked everywhere but not one plane photography tutorial mentions focusing on the plane.

In aviation photography, the only subject you are typically photographing is the airplane itself, so there is nothing else to focus on generally speaking. It is implied that you need to focus on the plane; try shooting with a faster shutter speed to ensure that the whole plane is sharp.

Comment

Do you recommend certain focus points or focus settings?

Comment

Not a screener, here is what i do

Ai Servo or AF-C depends on your camera. i.e. focusing all the way for each pass. burst shot. let go. burst shot.
        I prefer 9 point AF on the head area
        If your target is a jet, 1/640 to 1/1000 sec is good.
        Aperture f8-f11. If it's 90 degree side view, f5.6 should be fine. If it's 45 degree angle shot, choose smaller aperture.
        Pick the right ISO for the correct exposure.
        If your camera has back focus button, use it.

If what you said still happens,
        Originally posted by Ethantr2 View Post
        Sometimes I get the cockpit in focus and the tail I don't
        It could be some heat haze in the tail while it's clear around the cockpit area. Pick other photos.

Comment