Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Nikon D80 settings for the mound

Hey guys,

I am an amateur just starting out in spotting at sydney YSSY. I Have my Scanner and a Nikon D80 with a 70-300mm lens. I was wondering if anyone could advise me on the settings i could use when shooting at the mound? I've tried once but I didn't center the images and got backlighting on aircraft (rookie mistakes

Someone (Ryan) said to use my shutter speed a stop and a third above the focal length. Someone else they use other settings and achieve great results.

So any help as to the settings I should use would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks very much,

Ian Irwin

Hi Ian,

You actually don't need to keep your shutter speed anywhere near a stop and a third above your focal length, and trying to do so may result in compensating too much with other settings like ISO or aperture! It's generally a good idea to aim for your shutter speed to be at least equal to your focal length, so 100mm would require 1/100th, although to allow for a little lee-way I usually aim for it to be one third of a stop quicker so at 100mm I'd be aiming for at least 1/125th, 160mm I'd want 1/200th, 250mm I'd want 1/320th, etc. This usually gives fairly good results as long as you're not shivering when taking the photo!