Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Switching to IS lens - any advice/pointers?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Switching to IS lens - any advice/pointers?

I'm currently in advanced negotiations with one Mr. S. Claus for a new image stabilised lens! The one I'm most likely to get is a Canon 55-250mm, which seems very good value.

I've never used an IS lens before, so I'm just wondering if there is any adjustments I should be making to the camera as part of the transition to the new lens?

Also, in terms of sharpening (for example, for uploads to this site), do you find that it needs much less?

I know that on this particular lens, there are two (?) settings of IS, but I'll just have to wait and read the manual, although I guess this is the same for other Canon IS lenses.

Can anyone comment on experiences? Easy to get used to? Makes a huge/medium/minor difference to the quality of the end product?

Hi there,

The important thing to remember about IS is that it doesn't actually make the lens any sharper. The sharpness of the lens is dictated by the quality of the optics and you very much get what you pay for with lenses, so a cheap-ish lens with IS won't really perform any better than any other roughly equivalent lens in terms of sharpness. IS is purely there to help try avoid camera shake (which causes blur, not softness). In all honesty, for the most part in reasonable conditions you probably won't even notice IS doing anything apart from making the image in your viewfinder wobble a bit. Many people even turn IS off when shooting in good light and it should generally be regarded as a way of assisting in poor conditions, not as something that gives sharp results regardless of the conditions. It can help but not quite that much!