JetPhotos storage space and backup

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• JetPhotos storage space and backup

Hi all, I've been uploading to JP for 7 years now and enjoy every moment I spend on this site.

Just something I've been pondering past few days, the pics on this site just hit the 2 million mark and its growing at a good pace. Just wondering will this site ever run out of storage space, considering many upload pics at 1600 pixels across? Not that I mass upload, but my uploads are very selective and of the best quality I can produce.

Also are there any backup devices for photos on this site? I'm sure no uploaders will want their pics, which they've loaded for years, to vanish over night if the unfortunate happens.(Hope it'll never happen of course!)

Cheers!

Don't worry, the site is regularely backuped. As for storage space, it's all a matter of costs .
    My photos on Flickr www.flickr.com/photos/geridominguez

Comment

There was a very unfortunate incident in the very early days of the site so these days backing up the site is taken very seriously. The database is regularly backed up and also there are multiple server sites with one in the US and one in Europe I believe at professional data centres.

Comment

Originally posted by B7772ADL View Post
        There was a very unfortunate incident in the very early days of the site so these days backing up the site is taken very seriously. The database is regularly backed up and also there are multiple server sites with one in the US and one in Europe I believe at professional data centres.
        There was in indeed James but I think it was only uploaded shots awaiting screening that were lost so even if not an apocalyptic situation it did concentrate the mind of Chris and others at the helm to that issue.

Comment