Question on buying a digital camera

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question on buying a digital camera

Yes I am relatively new to the hobby, and am looking to get a new digital camera. I am at DFW and have access to a few cool spots on top of Founders to shoot. I took some shots on my old 70mm with 800 speed, but they seemed a bit grainy and only planepictures.net accepted even one. The rest were not very good I guess. (I have linked to a few at www.greggayden.com) my site.

Anyway, I was looking at maybe a Fuji Finepix s5000. I noticed one guy on here in Dublin has a few shots with that camera. The zoom is apparently pretty good, although is 3.1 MP decent enough? I like the Canon rebels 6.3MP, but a bit more than I care to spend frankly. What about the HP 945 photosmart? That is 5.1MP but only to 400ISO. Any other suggestions from you experts? I'd like a decent camera so I don't have to buy again in a few years time.

Also, what is a good speed to photograph the planes? I always thought I needed a higher ISO to capture the image, as when I took some at 400 they were all blurry. But one post said to shoot at 50!! So this amateur is confused.

Thanks for all your help!

Greg Gayden
    DFW Tower.com

Well remember the higher the speed the grainer the pictures. I generally shoot at 100 speeds only; I don't even like 200 speeds. As for cameras check out Cnet.com for the latest reviews. Cnet does a great job testing out digital equipment. I have an Olympus C4000 and I love, the zoom isn't all that great but the pictures come out great. Olympus just came out with the C750, which has a 10x zoom, and 4 mega pixels.

Comment

It's all about the lighting.

What you need to be concerned about is shutter speed, with less emphasis on film speed. Any shutter faster than 1/60 sec. should be efficient for broad daylight. I got this shot with 400 speed filmm, a Nikon N80 and a 70-300mm zoom lens.

http://www.photosig.com/go/photos/view?id=767220