Novice baffled by rejection reasons

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Novice baffled by rejection reasons

I am a novice trying to submit the attached photo, but the cryptic response for rejection by the reviewer gives me little useful guidance for improvement. A bit more specific information would be helpful.

Reason(s) For Rejection:
    - Bad Composition (bad framing / aircraft not centered)
    - Dark / Underexposed
    - Cropping / Photo edges / Size Ratio
    - JPG compression artefacts [sic]

OK, I can see that the plane may not be perfectly centered vertically in the photo, and that can be fixed by re-cropping.

Can I fix the underexposure by applying the posted guidelines for using a histogram?

What is the problem with the cropping and photo edges? I didn't crop any of the aircraft out of the photo. Is it cropped too close at the nose and tail? How do you determine the correct size ratio?

Where are the JPG compression artifacts visible? Is it better to shoot in RAW format and then convert to JPG, or should the photo be submitted in RAW format to avoid any JPG compression? This photo was shot in JPG mode with a Canon 6D full-frame camera using a Canon lense, so I would think the resulting JPG is good quality.

I suppose it is too much to ask to expect a few circles or annotations to point out problem issues. It would help if the reasons for rejection could be a bit more specific so we can learn from them.

Any comments would be appreciated.

Click image for larger version

Name:	N177RC_73_Cardinal_PAFA.jpg
Views:	583
Size:	579.9 KB
ID:	1092356

Originally posted by rcombellick View Post
    I am a novice trying to submit the attached photo, but the cryptic response for rejection by the reviewer gives me little useful guidance for improvement. A bit more specific information would be helpful.

Reason(s) For Rejection:
    - Dark / Underexposed