Something is wrong here....

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Something is wrong here....

From the headlines on the homepage. Re: the Buffalo Continental/Colgan Air crash.

Shaw (First Officer) also complained about poor treatment by Colgan Air Inc. of Manassas, Va., which operated the flight for Continental Airlines. She said she earned only $15,800 the previous year and the airline was refusing to give her $200 in back pay she felt she was owed.
    Now, as a paramedic I like to think that I offer a fairly important service to the people of my county...but normally only ever one at a time....and that only AFTER the occurrance of a medical/trauma emergency.

US$15,000 converts to UK£9,575....per f*****g ANNUM !!!

My basic pay without shift bonus is UK£25,000 'ish. I work a permanent 24 hr. rota system ( a work pattern which I would assume is not a lot different to an airline F/O ), and get a 25% uplift on basic pay for that. This means that I am on a guaranteed minimum UK£31,000 per annum basic pay.

Something is very, VERY wrong here. 49 pax died in the Buffalo crash, I believe the aircraft is capable of carrying a few more than that. Like I say, I'm responsible for peoples' lives but if, God forbid, I ever get it wrong there is at least a chance that receiving doctors will be able to intervene positively.
    When a F/O - Captain gets it wrong it's goodnight nurse !

With a bit of overtime I'm on UK£36,000+ per annum. I cannot believe that someone with the responsibilities that F/O Shaw had gets 4X + less than me.

The USA might be the land of the free ....... but it sure as hell isn't the land of the appropriately paid !!
    If it 'ain't broken........ Don't try to mend it !

There are a lot more people who want to be a pilot rather than a para medic, so this your basic economic laws at work.

Most people don't even know what a para medic is BTW. For them there are only doctors and nurses and nothing in between.