VS022 IAD-LHR Sept. 5, 2006

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• VS022 IAD-LHR Sept. 5, 2006

This is my first time flying on Virgin Atlantic. I had booked this flight 2 months ago for a reletively cheap price from Washington-Dulles Intl. Airport to London Heathrow Intl. Airport.
    I left the house in D.C. at quarter til 4pm for my 18:40 departure on Virgin Atlantic flight 022, an Airbus A340-600, registration # G-VWKD. The night before I checked in on my home computer thinking I wouldn't be waiting in line to check in at the airport but I was wrong. I got to the DIY online check in line along with 15 or so travelling who are flying to LHR on the same flight. THe regular check in line with approx. 150 people were waiting in line. However, the time in the online check in line went slow, took me over an hour to check in and head to sercurity. I should've just waited in the regular check in line and that would've been quicker. Going to sercurity was simple, with only a few people in line. At this point, it was 18:00, 40 minutes until my flight leaves the gate, plenty of time for me. I took my laptop out of my laptop bag along with my camera gear and simple as that. I proceeded to the B terminal via the mobile lounges as what it's called at IAD. 5 minutes later, I was at the gate B32 and ready to board. Boarding call was normal, first with pre-board for the elderlies and for unaccompanied minors. Then it was upper class and then premuim economy and then economy from the rear to forward. My seat is 42K, so it was the third to be announced.

I was excited to be on an A340-600. I've heard nothing but great things with the airline. The flight was full but short of one passenger and I got lucky. The seat next to mine was empty. Virgin Atlantic provided us with an small amenity kit such as a toothbrush, a small tube of toothpaste, ear foamies, an eyepad, and a pen and of course, a blanket and a pillow.