20mm Gatling for WW2 Tail Gunners

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 20mm Gatling for WW2 Tail Gunners

Heres a question i've been mulling for a couple of years, its a quiet day,thought i'd post it.
    We have all seen gatling guns in the history books and movies, hand cranked, and gravity fed for the most part. Likewise we have seen B-52s using 20mm gatling guns in the tail section (if the concept needed proving, the B-52 was it).
    Anybody who has studied the bomber campaign during WW2 will know the importance of gunners and tail gunners in particular (a tail shot requires no deflection shooting so is the most devastating and most popular position to fire from). No man suffered in a bomber like the tail gunner! Bottom turret wasn't too comfortable either.
    Anyway, since the importance of the tail gunner, why then was the 20mm gun not trialled until the end of the war? Why was there not a .50 cal or 20mm gatling gun installed in the tail? This would have made a massive difference in the air war in my opinion. Germany ably improved their 20mm guns, creating i think the C38 (was C30) fast firing 20mm. They then paired these two 20s to devastating effect and also created a "quad" that tagged just about anything you pointed it at! Whereas the Hispano Suiza (French) was continually used by the allies...It was a heap of crap! The Brits tried to improve it, the US tried to improve it, but all failed...Why?? What about a .50 calibre gating gun in the tail? Or in any of the other positions for that matter..?

Toss a wild guess since as you put, it's a slow day. Perhaps they were a maintenance headache in confined space. A tiny area, keeping the brass policed and from jamming other gear?

Just feeding the beast and the rate of accuracy. The gun may be used in aircraft like the Warthog/Thunderbolt but isn't the rate of fire extremely limited. In aircraft like Puff or Jolly Green it is kind of blind point and shoot air to ground.