Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Your thoughts on your hometown?

Hi,

I am a resident of a city west of Toronto, Canada and the following is what I think about GTA from a University student's point of view:

Bad points:

. The city is very spread out which makes commuting a pain. It is very bad because I live in the Western part while almost all of my friends live in the East. (commuting to their place would take 2 - 2.5 hours!).

. Since Engineering is pretty tough and requires loads of homework and study, life gets pretty boring for 8 months where you have no personal life except for study or just crash on the couch whenever you get precious free moments (but this is not a fault of Toronto).

. There really is nothing to do in vacations except for night clubs or snooker clubs/bar which are places I don't hang out. Toronto should really consider making free gyms and more bicycle courses for cheap people like me.

Good points:

. Very clean as compared to some places on Earth I have been to.

. Heating facility in public and residential buildings during winter is amazing.
    You only have one life...

Make wise decisions and live freely.

aic, which university are you in? I'm in Engineering Science at UofT.

The main problem with the GTA, as you say is commuting. This will not be an easy task until they consolidate all of the surrounding regional transit systems into one system, and for Christ's sake, let there be less than three different fares when coming from the suburb to donwtown! (I had to pay for Mississauga Transit, GO Transit, TTC)

Comment