Longest Jetways

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Longest Jetways

Forgive me if this has been discussed already. I did a few searches and did not find much.
    Occasionally I will see a photo of an airport overview and there seem to be some long jetways. What airports have the longest jetways? I have not been to many airports so I would say that the longest I was on was at Denver when boarding United flight 944 from DEN-ORD on a 772.

Thanks,

Brad

Hey Brad!

I'll try and answer your question, even though I'm not an expert on the issue.

There are several types of jetways, boarding bridges, etc. FMC Technologies has several, and I'm going to use them to highlight some of the features of each.

Your traditional pedestal passenger boarding bridge, is a bridge that is fixed to the ground with a movable end.

The Jetway Pedestal passenger bridge is available in a variety of models, determined by the distance of vertical lift an the horizontal travel of the "C" tunnel. A single lift column with single drive is used for lesser vertical distances, and a single lift column with dual drive is available for greater vertical distances.

Although the bridge is fixed, it is capable of extending or retracting ten feet (3.05m) an features 30 degrees of cab rotation. As a result, the pedestal bridge affords considerable flexibility for accurate cab alignment, proper docking, and ease of operation.
    -FMC

Another bridge is a glass bridge that has a telescoping walkway.

Features:

-Virtual elimination of roof rollers enables use of rounded corners or other effects.
    -Smooth exterior walls replace corrugated panels, greatly enhancing architectural flexibility.
    -Elimination of roof-roller-flanges reduces maintenance and eliminates the possibility of rust bleed.
    -Glass option produces a feeling of openness with enhanced aesthetic appeal for travellers.