Collapse
No announcement yet.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Okay, I am COMPLETELY new to aviation photography and I haven't a clue where to start. All I know is you need a computer and a camera. Could anyone give me suggestions on where to start i.e. what camera/film/etc. Thanks!

CheckSix
    CheckSix

Equipment: A camera (who gives a rip about the brand?)

Hello, and welcome to this place. How about starting at an airport with some aircraft ?

Seriously, you only need a computer if you have a digital camera. If not you have to get yourself clear whether you want to shoot prints, or slides. There is no general recipie as what film/camera to take, it depends on your likes and dislikes, and what do you want to do with your photos.

Let us have a little bit more information about what you are planning to do, then we can certainly give some tips.

Regards,
    Peter

Comment

Basically I will be at SEA and my local airport. I don't know what type of camera to get (digital or regular). I have heard the digital is better for close ups and regular for long range with the big lenses. Is that enough?
      CheckSix

Comment

P.S. I basically want to make prints (regular paper size if possible) and put them on the internet.
        CheckSix

Comment

To answer your question on buying a digital camera vs buying a regular film camera, I would suggest going the route of a good 35mm SLR camera. High quality digital cameras are still expensive, especially when you compare prices with a good quality 35mm SLR camera. A good quality scanner for scanning in prints also isn't very expensive.

Most of my photos on this site have been taken with a Nikon N80 and I would consider this camera to be a good SLR camera at a reasonable price.

I hope this information will be of some help with the camera decision.

Click Here to view my aircraft photos at JetPhotos.Net!
          Click Here to view my aircraft photos at JetPhotos.Net!

Comment

CheckSix,