Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Aircraft Scrap Value

Hi,

I was wondering if anyone could give some insight into what the hull of an aircraft would be worth after nearly everything has been removed, leaving just the metal shell.

I'm not an expert by any means, but it probably depends on the aircraft.

Many years ago, I read something that suggested that L-1011s were almost "worse than useless" from this point of view, due to the presence of significant amounts of material that contaminated the scrap aluminum, such as depleted uranium counterweights.

I'm less sure, but in more recent aircraft with a higher composite content, this could also be an issue.

For an older aircraft, you're essentially determining its value in scrap aluminum, less the cost of breaking it up into small enough bits that it can be handled. I'd be interesting in hearing more from someone that's knowledgeable about the business.

Comment

Originally posted by CanVoodoo View Post
      I'm not an expert by any means, but it probably depends on the aircraft.

Many years ago, I read something that suggested that L-1011s were almost "worse than useless" from this point of view, due to the presence of significant amounts of material that contaminated the scrap aluminum, such as depleted uranium counterweights.

I'm less sure, but in more recent aircraft with a higher composite content, this could also be an issue.

For an older aircraft, you're essentially determining its value in scrap aluminum, less the cost of breaking it up into small enough bits that it can be handled. I'd be interesting in hearing more from someone that's knowledgeable about the business.