Bright Sunlight - Overexposed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bright Sunlight - Overexposed

Good day. I am still new to photography and I am seeking your kind advice on photographing planes (especially white ones) bathed in bright sunlight.
    Equipment (entry model) : Camera-Nikon D5600 Lense-NIKKOR AF-P DX 70-300mm F4.5-6.3

Most on the time on the camera LCD, the pic looks "OK" only to go home find out the pics are overexposed and too bright.

Target : Multiple shots of an aircraft landing (lighting changes as it approaches)
    1. What should I prioritize for my camera settings?
    2. Can I add any filters to my lense?
    3. Will a higher end lense, say a Tamron 70-200mm F2.8 G2, help in this matter?

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Best regards
    Vicknesh

I use Nikon D7000's. In bright sunlight I underexpose by 0.7ev.
    I use Aperture priority at 100 iso with an aperture of f8 to f10.
    Metering is centre weighted.
    A higher end lens will always improve matters. Use the best that you can afford. My favourite is the Nikon AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR. I also have a Nikon 70-300mm f4.5-5.6G ED VR on my second D7000 body which is a damn good lens.
    Last edited by brianw999; 2017-12-11, 12:19.
    If it 'ain't broken........ Don't try to mend it !

Comment

Hello,

use P or A mode (set to F and the following settings:

Metering: centre weighted
      exposure compensation: 0,0 or maybe -0,3.
      Active D-Lighting - off
      AF-C priority: focus

And a "better" lens will not fix an overexposure problem. This is a camera settings problem. You need to learn the exposure modes and how to use exposure compensation.

Comment

Originally posted by brianw999 View Post
        I use Nikon D7000's. In bright sunlight I underexpose by 0.7ev.
        I use Aperture priority at 100 iso with an aperture of f8 to f10.
        Metering is centre weighted.