New camera suggestions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New camera suggestions

I've been using a Nikon D5300 for the past several years and while it's given me some wonderful shots, it's now past its design shutter actuations and I think it's time to think about something new. There are also a few other issues possibly related to age. As a first port of call, I wanted to get some ideas.

1. One thing that annoys me about Nikon is the D-lighting and whatever about newer versions, it certainly reduces the number of settings you can have. I always use "A" (or aperture priority) .It seems tow work fine with that. Nikons have become more expensive of late and the combination of a new Nikon and an18-300mm lens is pretty costly.

2, On the Canon front, I would be looking at a D90, or something else around the €1500 mark. Tamron has a new 18-400mm lens, which looks good and has a Canon (or Nikon) fitting. Anyone have experience of using this. Ideally, I'd like a single lens to cover all/most options. Not having to change lenses too open helps to reduce dust issues.

3, Autofocus and multiple autofocus points. A lot of the new cameras have several different points and settings and while I hope these have improved, the different autofocus points on my D5300 were a bit slow to react to moving aircraft and I just gave up using them. Do newer cameras have better autofocus points and - in relation to Nikon, can these be used without have D-lighting on?

4. Mirrorless cameras. I may be wrong but I get the impression that these gather dust pretty quickly - moreso than "ordinary" SLR cameras? Is this correct? Anyone have positive experiences of using mirrorless cameras for aviation photography?

For those who have cameras that they are particularly happy with, what are those and what makes them so good? Recommendations welcome!

Highly recommend the Canon EOS series, my 70D has lasted roughly 7 years

Comment