Exposure and Contrast

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Exposure and Contrast

Hello. I'm relatively new to uploading photos onto Jetphotos.
    I recently had a lot of my photos get declined for being underexposed and also have too much / too little contrast. I'm wondering how the screeners determine whether or not the photo's exposure is correct or if the contrast is correct?

Click image for larger version

Name:	Airplane.png
Views:	1078
Size:	149.9 KB
ID:	1177432
    On this photo above I can see how it is underexposed. I agree that it looks a little dark and is pretty far left on the histogram. However, I'm confused on if the contrast is too much or too little? I thought the contrast was pretty good given how the histogram is spread nicely to both sides. How can I utilize the histogram to determine if the contrast is good or not? I'm assuming the contrast is too little judging by how there aren't any pixels on the far right side of the histogram.

Name:	Airplane 2.png
Views:	491
Size:	105.6 KB
ID:	1177433

This picture is also somewhat puzzling to me. It was declined for being dark / underexposed but majority of the pixels are showing up in the middle of the right half of the histogram. This lead me to believe that it was exposed correctly, but its still getting declined for being underexposed. Any input on how I can fix this and determine the correct exposure based on the histogram would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Originally posted by Prisque View Post
    I recently had a lot of my photos get declined for being underexposed and also have too much / too little contrast. I'm wondering how the screeners determine whether or not the photo's exposure is correct or if the contrast is correct?